Grain Free · Paleo · Paleo snacks · Recipes

Paleo Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Ranch Seasoned Roasted Pumpkin Seeds
Ranch Seasoned Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

So I’m Cheap. I mean, pretty close to depression era “save your damp paper towels for another use” sort of cheap, but not that much. I do however, hate to spend more than $2.50 on munchie snacks. Like chips for example. They’re pretty cheap, and prior to my paleo/keto days, I would have totally plowed through them without a second thought… Tim’s Cascade Sea Salt and Vinegar were my favorite, and now I can’t eat them anymore… mostly because they don’t sell them in South Carolina.

Anyway, as I was carving out my pumpkin to make homemade paleo pumpkin custard (more on that later)… I realized – HEY! Snacks that I can crunch on. Woo hoo! Born are the pumpkin seeds. Not so sure the carb content, but it comes out of a pumpkin, so I know it’s paleo… and I didn’t put any crap on it so we’re good.

Paleo Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

After removing the pumpkin seeds from the pumpkin with a spook, place in a small dish and let sit overnight so the seeds can separate from the orange slimy stuff

.Paleo Food-3

When ready, preheat oven to 350. Remove any excess orange slimy stuff from the seeds and drain extra water out of the dish. You don’t want moisture here. The roasting is intended to eliminate moisture and make them crispy. Add onion powder, garlic powder, dill, parsley, salt, paprika and olive oil to the dish and mix it up.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup of Pumpkin seeds
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 1/2 tsp dill
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil

I use the butter flavor infused olive oil from Olive the Above. I’m not paid to say that… it’s just really stinkin good. Unfortunately you can’t buy it online anywhere yet, but they do have a facebook page if you want to order.

Paleo Food-4

Place evenly in a roasting pan and pop in to the oven for 50 minutes.

Paleo Food-5

Now: Do not roast for 50 minutes or you will learn the hard way that your spices burn. All they need is a good 20 minutes at 350. And here you go..

Ranch Seasoned Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Leave a Reply

