Uncategorized

If you give a mouse a paleo cookie…. he’s gonna want a glass of coconut milk to go with it.

I’ve been hearing a lot of buzz about a current “trend” in self-denial called “Whole30”. I say “trend” because most of the time, trends tend to be quite popular but usually unhelpful. This is getting popular, but I think it might change my life.

In 2008, I developed a weird, bizarre allergy to milk. Now, most people say, “oh you’re lactose intolerant”, like they know what I’m talking about. This allergy might as well turn me purple with neon green spots. It makes no sense, and doesn’t fit in to any box. If you have food “sensitivities’ you know what I’m talking about.
When I eat dairy, my immune system thinks I’ve ingested a pathogen and fights it out like the devil. Sneezing, wheezing, etc. It took me a while to figure out what it was until I finally visited a Naturopath and ordered an ALCAT test to show immune reactions in blood to certain food particles. More on that later.

But as a result… Ice cream, lattes, protein shakes, CHEEEEEESE and pizza, among most other things I love in life, are out. Sugar is in, and has been since.

This is not good. My body is hating me. I have to do something about it, so we’ll be back to the drawing board wit the sugar shunning. Isn’t that a movie with Jack Nicholson? I digress.

I am going to start posting pictures and recipes of things that I make that are Dairy, Sugar, and sometimes grain free. I’ll try to stick to Paleo guidelines as much as possible, and when I stray I’ll let you know that things are “not necessarily paleo”.

Leave a Reply

